Arrangement 2

stalkC_small

I do not know what kind of plant this is – the very pale green color is pretty accurate. It’s the same plant as the last post, and I even asked a gardener who didn’t know either. I’m titling them “Arrangement 1” and “Arrangement 2” because I am in the last 10 days of a meditation retreat and work practice period at the San Francisco Zen Center, where one of my duties is to make small arrangements for guest rooms. I have no training in ikebana, the art of flower arranging, so I’m very much improvising as I go. Sometimes the arrangements are fairly minimal and sometimes there’s more going on. I liked this plant a great deal for its almost-white stem and underside of the leaf.

Leave a Reply

